Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Vivisector by Patrick White

The title of this book is Vivisector and is written by author Patrick White. The book Vivisector is published by Penguin Putnam Inc. The ISBN of this book is 9780143105671 and the format is Paperback. The publisher has not provided a book description for Vivisector by Patrick White.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780143105671
ISBN-10: 0143105671
Format: Paperback
(196mm x 130mm x 38mm)
Imprint: Penguin USA
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Publish Date: 27-Jan-2009
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Vivisector by Patrick White

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Vivisector book by Patrick White and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Patrick White

Patrick White(1912-1990) was born in England in 1912, when his parents were in Europe for two years; at six months he was taken back to Australia, where his father owned a sheep station. When he was thirteen, he went to school in England, to Cheltenham, where it was understood, the climate would be temperate and a colonial acceptable. Neither proved true, and after four rather miserable years there he went to King s College, Cambridge, where he specialized in languages. After leaving the university he settled in London, determined to become a writer. His first novel, Happy Valley, was published in 1939 and his second, The Living and the Dead, in 1941. During the war he was an RAF Intelligence Officer in the Middle East and Greece. After the war he returned to Australia. His novels include The Aunt s Story (1946), The Tree of Man (1956), Voss (1957), Riders in the Chariot (1961), The Solid Mandala (1966), The Eye of the Storm (1973), A Fringe of Leaves (1976), and The Twyborn Affair (1979). He also published two collections of short stories, The Burnt Ones (1964) and The Cockatoos (1974), which incorporates several short novels, a collection of novellas, Three Uneasy Pieces (1987), and his autobiography, Flaws in the Glass (1981). He also edited Memoirs of Many in One (1986). In 1973 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. Upon his death, The Times wrote, Patrick White did more than any other writer to put Australian literature on the international map. His tormented oeuvre is that of a great and essentially modern writer. J. M. Coetzeewas born in Cape Town, South Africa, on February 9, 1940. He studied first at Cape Town and later at the University of Texas at Austin, where he earned a Ph.D. degree in literature. In 1972 he returned to South Africa and joined the faculty of the University of Cape Town. His works of fiction includeDusklands, Waiting for the Barbarians, which won South Africa s highest literary honor, the Central News Agency Literary Award, andThe Life and Times of Michael K., for which Coetzee was awarded his first Booker Prize in 1983. He has also published a memoir, Boyhood: Scenes From a Provincial Life, and several essays collections. He has won many other literary prizes including the Lannan Award for Fiction, the Jerusalem Prize and TheIrish TimesInternational Fiction Prize. In 1999 he again won Britain s prestigious Booker Prize forDisgrace, becoming the first author to win the award twice in its 31-year history. In 2003, Coetzee was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature."

Books By Patrick White

Developing Research Questions by Patrick White
Paperback, July 2017
Growing Christmas Trees by Patrick White
Paperback, February 2015
Happy Valley: Text Classics by Patrick White
Paperback, June 2014
Happy Valley by Patrick White
Paperback, January 2014