Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Chaos by James Gleick

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick the author of Time Travel: A History that reveals the science behind chaos theory A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos , Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe."

Buy Chaos by James Gleick from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780143113454
ISBN-10: 0143113453
Format: Paperback / softback
(216mm x 140mm x 30mm)
Imprint: Penguin USA
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Chaos by James Gleick

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Chaos book by James Gleick and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - James Gleick

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award, andTime Travel: A History.He lives inKey West and New York."

Books By James Gleick

Time Travel by James Gleick
Paperback, September 2017
$17.99
Information by James Gleick
Paperback, March 2012
$30.02
Isaac Newton by James Gleick
Paperback, June 2004
$20.99
Faster by James Gleick
Paperback, June 2000
$23.06