Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

For this second edition of his guide to the more adventurous evolutions of music since 1945, Reginald Smith Brindle has added a new chapter reviewing developments in the decade since the book first appeared. He discusses the decline of experimentalism and the reaction against increasing cerebralism and complexity as variously illustrated by the more recent works of Stockhausen, the 'minimalist' works of Reich and Glass, and the partial return to romanticism. He also reviews the technological revolution which has taken place in computer music, and concludes that the future of music will for the time being be most closely associated with technological change and development, rather than with radical change in compositional techniques.

Buy New Music book by Reginald Smith Brindle from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780193154681
ISBN-10: 0193154684
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 145mm x 12mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 9-Jul-1987
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about New Music book by Reginald Smith Brindle and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Reginald Smith Brindle

Musical Composition by Reginald Smith Brindle

Musical Composition

Paperback, October 1986
Serial Composition by Reginald Smith Brindle

Serial Composition

Paperback, January 1965