1300 36 33 32

America Divided: The Civil War of the 1960s, Third Edition, is the definitive interpretive survey of the political, social, and cultural history of 1960s America. Written by two top experts on the era--Maurice Isserman, a scholar of the Left, and Michael Kazin, a specialist in Right-wing politics and culture--this book provides a compelling tale of this tumultuous era filled with fresh and persuasive insights. For the third edition the authors have updated the text in light of new research, particularly scholarship on the war in Vietnam. They have also expanded the coverage of youth movements and the New Left to include Latino and Asian radical movements, deepened their analysis of the emergence of feminism, and added discussions of the Sixties of other countries. The chapters on religion and the revival of conservatism have been expanded to include recent studies that underscore how broad and deep the conservative movement of the 1960s proved to be. Now featuring new images to better illustrate the era, America Divided, Third Edition, defines, discusses, and analyzes all sides of the political, social, and cultural conflicts of the 1960s in a swiftly moving narrative. It is ideal for courses in 1960s America and America since 1945, or for anyone interested in the last fifty years of American History.

Buy America Divided book by Maurice Isserman from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780195319866
ISBN-10: 0195319869
Format: Paperback
(233mm x 156mm x 17mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: Oxford University Press Inc
Publisher: Oxford University Press Inc
Publish Date: 15-Mar-2007
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about America Divided book by Maurice Isserman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Books By Author Maurice Isserman

Continental Divide by Maurice Isserman

Continental Divide

Paperback, May 2017
Cronkite's War by Maurice Isserman

Cronkite's War

Hardback, May 2013
Fallen Giants by Maurice Isserman

Fallen Giants

Paperback, March 2010
Other American by Maurice Isserman

The Other American

Paperback, February 2001