1300 36 33 32

Elektra was the fourth of fifteen operas by Strauss and opened his successful partnership with the librettist Hugo von Hofmannsthal. It is one of the most important operas of the early twentieth century and it solidified Strauss's status as the leading German opera-composer of his day. Bryan Gilliam's study of this major work examines its musical-historical context and also provides a detailed analysis of some of its musical features. He establishes a chronology of the evolution of the opera and places it in the larger framework of German opera of the time. His detailed examination of the sketch-books enables him to offer fresh insight into Strauss's use of motifs and overall tonal structure. In so doing he shows how the work's arresting dissonance and chromaticism has hidden its similarities to his later, seemingly more tonally conservative opera, Der Rosenkavalier - not only does Strauss in both operas exploit a variety of musical styles to express irony, parody, and other emotions, but both are in fact thoroughly tonal.

Buy Richard Strauss's "Elektra" book by Bryan Gilliam from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780198166023
ISBN-10: 0198166028
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 18mm)
Pages: 284
Imprint: Clarendon Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 28-Mar-1996
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Richard Strauss's "Elektra" book by Bryan Gilliam and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Books By Author Bryan Gilliam

Rounding Wagner's Mountain by Bryan Gilliam

Rounding Wagner's Mountain

Hardback, November 2014
Lyonel Feininger by Bryan Gilliam

Lyonel Feininger

Hardback, June 2011
Life of Richard Strauss by Bryan Gilliam

The Life of Richard Strauss

Hardback, August 1999
Richard Strauss and His World by Bryan Gilliam

Richard Strauss and His World

Paperback, August 1992