Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Finale in Western Instrumental Music by Michael Talbot

The knowledge that finales are by tradition (and perhaps also necessarily) 'different' from other movements has been around a long time, but this is the first time that the special nature of finales in instrumental music has been examined comprehensively and in detail. Three main types of finale, labelled 'relaxant', 'summative', and 'valedictory', are identified. Each type is studied closely, with a wealth of illustration and analytical commentary covering the entire period from the Renaissance to the present day. The history of finales in five important genres - suite, sonata, string quartet, symphony, and concerto - is traced, and the parallels and divergences between these traditions are identified. Several wider issues are mentioned, including narrativity, musical rounding, inter-movement relationships, and the nature of codas. The book ends with a look at the finales of all Shostakovich's string quartets, in which examples of most of the types may be found.

Buy The Finale in Western Instrumental Music by Michael Talbot from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780198166955
ISBN-10: 0198166958
Format: Hardback
(243mm x 161mm x 19mm)
Pages: 264
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 24-May-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Finale in Western Instrumental Music by Michael Talbot

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Finale in Western Instrumental Music book by Michael Talbot and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Michael Talbot

Vivaldi Compendium by Michael Talbot
Paperback, October 2013
Vivaldi by Michael Talbot
Paperback, November 2000
Holographic Universe by Michael Talbot
Paperback, October 1996