Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Shakespeare First Folio by Anthony James West

Existing copies of the Shakespeare First Folio (1623) were surveyed and counted a hundred years ago, in Sidney Lee's Census of 1902. Since then, some seventy copies have come to light, some of which are only now identified as First Folios. This new Census lists 229 copies, giving concise descriptions of each. The entries cover condition (including the number of original leaves), items of special interest, provenance, and binding. A concordance of Lee and West numbers is also provided. To set the stage, the volume tells the story of the search for copies and the detective work involved in dealing with doubtful identifications. Because Folios survive in such a wide variety of condition, the tests for defining what to count as a copy are described, then demonstrated with three unnumbered, unrecognized copies at the Folger Shakespeare Library. Finally, details of missing copies are given, to increase the likelihood of their rediscovery.

Buy The Shakespeare First Folio by Anthony James West from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780198187684
ISBN-10: 0198187688
Format: Hardback
(242mm x 163mm x 28mm)
Pages: 428
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 4-Sep-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Shakespeare First Folio by Anthony James West

Book Reviews - The Shakespeare First Folio by Anthony James West

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Shakespeare First Folio book by Anthony James West and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Anthony James West

Shakespeare First Folio by Anthony James West
Hardback, April 2001