Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the mathematical theory of compressible flow, describing both inviscid and viscous compressible flow, which are governed by the Euler and the Navier-Stokes equations respectively. The method of presentation allows readers with different backgrounds to focus on various modules of the material, either in part or more fully. Chapters include detailed heuristic arguments providing motivation for technical aspects that are rigorously presented later on in the text; for instance, the existence theory for steady and unsteady Navier-Stokes equations of isentropic compressible flow, and two-by-two systems of Euler equations in one space dimension. These parts are presented in a textbook style with auxiliary material in supporting sections and appendices. The book includes a rich index and extensive bibliography, thus allowing for quick orientation among the vast collection of literature on the mathematical theory of compressible flow, as well as in the book itself.

Buy Introduction to the Mathematical Theory of Compressible Flow book by Antonin Novotny from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780198530848
ISBN-10: 0198530846
Format: Hardback
(241mm x 163mm x 33mm)
Pages: 528
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 17-Jun-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Introduction to the Mathematical Theory of Compressible Flow book by Antonin Novotny and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Antonin Novotny

Antonin Novotny is Senior Researcher at the Laboratoire ANAM, Universite de Toulon et du Var in France.; Ivan Straskraba is a Senior Research Scientist at the Mathematical Institute of the Academy of Sciences in the Czech Republic.