Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Last Medieval Queens by J. L. Laynesmith

The last medieval queens of England were Margaret of Anjou, Elizabeth Woodville, Anne Neville, and Elizabeth of York - four very different women whose lives and queenship were dominated by the Wars of the Roses. This book is not a traditional biography but a thematic study of the ideology and practice of queenship. It examines the motivations behind the choice of the first English-born queens, the multi-faceted rituals of coronation, childbirth, and funeral, the divided loyalties between family and king, and the significance of a position at the heart of the English power structure that could only be filled by a woman. It sheds new light on the queens' struggles to defend their children's rights to the throne, and argues that ideologically and politically a queen was integral to the proper exercise of mature kingship in this period.

Buy The Last Medieval Queens by J. L. Laynesmith from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780199247370
ISBN-10: 0199247374
Format: Hardback
(242mm x 163mm x 22mm)
Pages: 312
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 12-Feb-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Last Medieval Queens by J. L. Laynesmith

Book Reviews - The Last Medieval Queens by J. L. Laynesmith

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Last Medieval Queens book by J. L. Laynesmith and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - J. L. Laynesmith

J. L. Laynesmith received her doctorate from the University of York and has taught medieval history at the universities of York, Oxford, Reading, and Huddersfield.

Books By J. L. Laynesmith

Cecily Duchess of York by J. L. Laynesmith
Hardback, July 2017
Last Medieval Queens by J. L. Laynesmith
Paperback, June 2005