1300 36 33 32

Virtue ethics is perhaps the most important development within late twentieth-century moral philosophy. Rosalind Hursthouse, who has made notable contributions to this development, now presents a full exposition and defence of her neo-Aristotelian version of virtue ethics. She shows how virtue ethics can provide guidance for action, illuminate moral dilemmas, and bring out the moral significance of the emotions. Deliberately avoiding a combative stance, she finds less disagreement between Kantian and neo-Aristotelian approaches than is usual, and she offers the first account from a virtue ethics perspective of acting 'from a sense of duty'. She considers the question which character traits are virtues, and explores how answers to this question can be justified by appeal to facts about human nature. Written in a clear, engaging style which makes it accessible to non-specialists, On Virtue Ethics will appeal to anyone with an interest in moral philosophy.

Buy On Virtue Ethics book by Rosalind Hursthouse from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780199247998
ISBN-10: 0199247994
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 15mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 27-Sep-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about On Virtue Ethics book by Rosalind Hursthouse and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Rosalind Hursthouse

Rosalind Hursthouse is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Auckland, New Zealand.

Books By Author Rosalind Hursthouse

Ethics, Humans and Other Animals by Rosalind Hursthouse

Ethics, Humans and Other Animals

Paperback, September 2000
On Virtue Ethics by Rosalind Hursthouse

On Virtue Ethics

Hardback, December 1999
Virtues and Reasons by Rosalind Hursthouse

Virtues and Reasons

Paperback, April 1998