Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Alice in Sunderland by Bryan Talbot

Alice in Sunderland is a graphic novel like no other. Bryan Talbot takes the city of Sunderland and the story of Lewis Carroll and Alice Liddell (the real Alice) as the spine of his story and around them spins a spectacularly diverse range of different stories. He explores Carroll s links with Sunderland and shows how the city inspired his masterpieces. He delves into the city s history, from the Venerable Bede to George Formby, from its heyday as the greatest shipbuilding port in the world to its present multicultural mix. Talbot s artwork is a spectacular mixture of different styles- black and white ink line and pencil drawing, watercolour, collage and digitally manipulated photographic artwork. His stories are told from the stage of the Sunderland Empire theatre, an Edwardian music hall, and the book is a genuine variety performance. In Alice in Sunderland he shows triumphantly how local history is national history in microcosm, how one story begets another. The result is a landmark book in the graphic field.

Buy Alice in Sunderland by Bryan Talbot from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780224080767
ISBN-10: 0224080768
Format: Hardback
(287mm x 199mm x 27mm)
Pages: 328
Imprint: Jonathan Cape Ltd
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 1-Apr-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Alice in Sunderland by Bryan Talbot

Book Reviews - Alice in Sunderland by Bryan Talbot

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Alice in Sunderland book by Bryan Talbot and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Bryan Talbot

Bryan Talbot has been writing and drawing comics for twenty-eight years. His science fiction epic The Adventures of Luther Arkwright, begun in 1978, was the first British graphic novel. He followed it with Heart of Empire and The Tale of One Bad Rat, which has been published in nine countries. All three books have won many awards.

Books By Bryan Talbot

Grandville Force Majeure by Bryan Talbot
Hardback, November 2017
Red Virgin and the Vision of Utopia by Bryan Talbot
Hardback, June 2016
Neil Gaiman's Teknophage by Bryan Talbot
Paperback, September 2015
Neil Gaiman's Teknophage #1 by Bryan Talbot
Paperback, September 2015