Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The "Sound and the Fury" and "As I Lay Dying" by William Faulkner

Now recognized as two of Faulkner's greatest novels, "The Sound and the Fury" (1929) and "As I Lay Dying" (1930) were commercial failures in the decade following their publication. By the end of the Second World War, however, the reputation of both novels had grown and Faulkner's great fictional creation, Yoknapatawpha County, had become as much a part of America as any real area of the Mississippi landscape. This guide explores the wealth of critical material generated by these two exceptional works of modernist fiction. From the initially mixed critical responses to the novels in the early 1930s, the guide follows the enormous growth of interest in Faulkner's work across six decades. New writings shaped by a range of critical theories are discussed, offering the reader a clear view of the place now given to one of America's most innovative and influential novelists.

Buy The "Sound and the Fury" and "As I Lay Dying" by William Faulkner from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780231121897
ISBN-10: 023112189X
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 133mm x 14mm)
Pages: 192
Imprint: Columbia University Press
Publisher: Columbia University Press
Publish Date: 6-Dec-2000
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - The "Sound and the Fury" and "As I Lay Dying" by William Faulkner

Book Reviews - The "Sound and the Fury" and "As I Lay Dying" by William Faulkner

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about "Sound and the Fury" and "As I Lay Dying" book by William Faulkner and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - William Faulkner

Nicolas Tredell teaches at the University of Sussex.

Books By William Faulkner

Bear by William Faulkner
Hardback, September 2016
Arbol de Los Deseos by William Faulkner
Paperback / softback, November 2015
Novels 1926-1929 by William Faulkner
Hardback, October 2014
Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner
Paperback, April 2014