1300 36 33 32

This classic of film criticism, long considered invaluable for its eloquent study of a problematic period in film history, is now substantially updated and revised by the author to include chapters beyond the Reagan era and into the twenty-first century. For the new edition, Robin Wood has written a substantial new preface that explores the interesting double context within which the book can be read-that in which it was written and that in which we find ourselves today. Among the other additions to this new edition are a celebration of modern "screwball" comedies like My Best Friend's Wedding, and an analysis of '90s American and Canadian teen movies in the vein of American Pie, Can't Hardly Wait, and Rollercoaster. Also included are a chapter on Hollywood today that looks at David Fincher and Jim Jarmusch (among others) and an illuminating essay on Day of the Dead.

Buy Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan... And Beyond book by Robin Wood from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780231129671
ISBN-10: 023112967X
Format: Paperback
(227mm x 155mm x 23mm)
Pages: 480
Imprint: Columbia University Press
Publisher: Columbia University Press
Publish Date: 19-Jun-2003
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan... And Beyond book by Robin Wood and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Robin Wood

Robin Wood is a founding editor of CineAction and author of Hitchcock's Films Revisited (Revised Edition, Columbia, 2002) and Sexual Politics and Narrative Film (Columbia, 1998). He is professor emeritus at York University and the recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society for Cinema Studies.

Books By Author Robin Wood

Aprende Como Leer El Tarot by Robin Wood

Aprende Como Leer El Tarot

Paperback / softback, May 2015
$34.02
Spoon Carving by Robin Wood

Spoon Carving

Paperback, August 2011
$33.26
Wooden Bowl by Robin Wood

The Wooden Bowl

Hardback, October 2005
$54.76
LightWave 3D 8 by Robin Wood

LightWave 3D 8

Paperback, June 2004
$54.00