Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - A Daughter of the Land by Gene Stratton-Porter

Kate Bates is another Gene Stratton-Porter unsung hero in the tradition of Elnora Comstock, of A Girl of the Limberlost, and Freckles and Laddie, of books of the same name. As the youngest child, and female, in a large prosperous farm family, she has been designated as her mother's helper in old age. Kate finds this unfair since all of the brothers have been given land and the older sisters sent to teacher training. With the help of a nephew and sister-in-law, she defies her parents, becomes a teacher, leaves home. Her real ambition, however, is to own and cultivate a large farm. After rejecting the easy path to her dream, she suffers through a bad marriage but ultimately acquires her land and achieves happiness.

Buy A Daughter of the Land by Gene Stratton-Porter from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780253211385
ISBN-10: 0253211387
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Indiana University Press
Publisher: Indiana University Press
Publish Date: 1-Jun-1997
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - A Daughter of the Land by Gene Stratton-Porter

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Daughter of the Land book by Gene Stratton-Porter and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Gene Stratton-Porter

Gene Stratton-Porter (1863-1924) was born on a farm in Wabash County, Indiana. Later, she lived in a cabin adjoining the Limberlost swamp, immortalized in her best-selling A Girl of the Limberlost (Library of Indiana Classics). In 1923 she moved to California for her health. There she organized her own motion picture company to capitalize on the national popularity of her books. Other novels reissued by Indiana University Press include Freckles, Laddie, The Harvester, and The Keeper of the Bees.

Books By Gene Stratton-Porter

Freckles by Gene Stratton-Porter
Paperback, April 2017
Wonder, Hope, Love, and Loss by Gene Stratton-Porter
Paperback, June 2015
Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter
Paperback, June 2007
At the Foot of the Rainbow by Gene Stratton-Porter
Paperback, June 1998