Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Symphonic Repertoire by A. Peter Brown

The second part of the third volume to appear in the magnum opus of A. Peter Brown continues the geographical tour of the mid-19th-to early-20th-century symphony begun in Vol. 3A. Brown discusses works from England, Russia, and France-including those by Potter, Bennett, Stanford, Elgar, Rimsky-Korsakov, Borodin, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Gounod, Bizet, Franck, Dukas, and many others. A single source provides a detailed analysis of stylistic traits and background material on the composition and performances of these masterpieces. Brown's series synthesizes an enormous amount of scholarly literature in a wide range of languages. It presents current overviews of the status of research, discusses important former or remaining problems of attribution, illuminates the style of specific works and their contexts, and samples early writings on their reception. There are overviews of the symphony as a genre and in-depth analysis of particular aspects of the symphony (such as composer, period, or instrument). No other book or series of books allows for the in-depth musical analysis and historical context that Brown provides in each volume of The Symphonic Repertoire.

Buy The Symphonic Repertoire by A. Peter Brown from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780253348975
ISBN-10: 0253348978
Format: Hardback
(254mm x 178mm x mm)
Pages: 864
Imprint: Indiana University Press
Publisher: Indiana University Press
Publish Date: 1-Nov-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - The Symphonic Repertoire by A. Peter Brown

Book Reviews - The Symphonic Repertoire by A. Peter Brown

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Symphonic Repertoire book by A. Peter Brown and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - A. Peter Brown

A. Peter Brown (1943-2003) was Professor of Musicology and Department Chair at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. He authored more than 80 published articles and reviews and was known for his scholarship on Joseph Haydn.

Books By A. Peter Brown

Symphonic Repertoire by A. Peter Brown
Hardback, June 2007