1300 36 33 32

Can neurophysiology ever reveal to us what it is like to smell a skunk or to experience pain? In what does the feeling of happiness consist? How is it that changes in the white and gray matter composing our brains generate subjective sensations and feelings? These are several of the questions that Michael Tye addresses, while formulating a new and enlightening theory about the phenomenal "what it feels like" aspect of consciousness. The test of any such theory, according to Tye, lies in how well it handles ten critical problems of consciousness. Tye argues that all experiences and all feelings represent things, and that their phenomenal aspects are to be understood in terms of what they represent. He develops this representational approach to consciousness in detail with great ingenuity and originality. In the book's first part Tye lays out the domain, the ten problems and an associated paradox, along with all the theories currently available and the difficulties they face. In part two, he develops his intentionalist approach to consciousness. Special summaries are provided in boxes and the ten problems are illustrated with cartoons. A Bradford Book Representation and Mind series

Buy Ten Problems of Consciousness book by Michael Tye from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780262700641
ISBN-10: 0262700646
Format: Paperback
(226mm x 150mm x 15mm)
Pages: 264
Imprint: MIT Press
Publisher: MIT Press Ltd
Publish Date: 3-Mar-1997
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Ten Problems of Consciousness book by Michael Tye and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Michael Tye

Michael Tye is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Texas at Austin. He is the author of Ten Problems of Consciousness (1995), Consciousness, Color, and Content (2000), and Consciousness and Persons (2003), all published by the MIT Press.

Books By Author Michael Tye

Tense Bees and Shell-Shocked Crabs by Michael Tye

Tense Bees and Shell-Shocked Crabs

Hardback, January 2017
Seven Puzzles of Thought by Michael Tye

Seven Puzzles of Thought

Paperback, August 2013
Consciousness Revisited by Michael Tye

Consciousness Revisited

Paperback, August 2011
Metaphysics of Mind by Michael Tye

The Metaphysics of Mind

Paperback, July 2009