1300 36 33 32

The history of democratic politics in Britain since the coming of universal male suffrage in 1918 is a dramatic one, crowded with events and colourful figures. As well as the great events of war and economic crises, and the quieter drama of constitutional change, this era has been studded with democratic protests of every sort: from the General Strike and the hunger marches of the 1930s, anti-Suez rallies and CND marches in the 1950s, student, feminist and green protests in the 1960s and seventies, the miners' strike and poll tax clashes of the 1980s, and the anti-Iraq War marches of the early twenty-first century. The story opens more than 350 years ago. The Levellers of the 17th century, 18th-century radicals, the Chartists and the Reform Acts are all part of the unsteady and fiercely contested progress towards a democratic constitution. Dreams, visions and ideals are important too - of George Orwell, and Enoch Powell, Milton, Thomas Paine and Edmund Burke, Churchill and Lord Salisbury, Aneurin Bevan and Tony Benn - for they have also shaped our outlook. BRITAIN SINCE 1918 is a formidable combination of narrative and analsysis: entertaining, instructive and thought-provoking.

Buy Britain Since 1918 book by David Marquand from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780297643203
ISBN-10: 0297643207
Format: Hardback
(235mm x 159mm x 43mm)
Pages: 496
Imprint: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date: 11-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Britain Since 1918 book by David Marquand and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - David Marquand

David Marquand is a leading authority on British politics. He has been a leader writer for the GUARDIAN, a Labour MP 1966-77, a Chief Adviser in the European Commission, a founder member of the SPD, Professor of Politics at Salford and Sheffield Universities and, most recently, Principal of Mansfield College, Oxford, 1996-2002. His highly acclaimed books include the standard life of Ramsay MacDonald. He lives in Oxford.

Books By Author David Marquand

Mammon's Kingdom by David Marquand

Mammon's Kingdom

Paperback, January 2015
End of the West by David Marquand

The End of the West

Paperback, August 2012
Britain Since 1918 by David Marquand

Britain Since 1918

Paperback, November 2009
Decline of the Public by David Marquand

The Decline of the Public

Hardback, January 2004