Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Enigma by Hugh Sebag-Montefiore

The complete story of how the German Enigma codes were broken. Perfect for fans of THE IMITATION GAME, the new film on Alan Turing's Enigma code, starring Benedict Cumberbatch. Breaking the German Enigma codes was not only about brilliant mathematicians and professors at Bletchley Park. There is another aspect of the story which it is only now possible to tell. It takes in the exploits of spies, naval officers and ordinary British seamen who risked, and in some cases lost, their lives snatching the vital Enigma codebooks from under the noses of Nazi officials and from sinking German ships and submarines. This book tells the whole Enigma story: its original invention and use by German forces and how it was the Poles who first cracked - and passed on to the British - the key to the German airforce Enigma. The more complicated German Navy Enigma appeared to them to be unbreakable.

Buy Enigma by Hugh Sebag-Montefiore from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780304366620
ISBN-10: 0304366625
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 135mm x 36mm)
Pages: 576
Imprint: Weidenfeld Military
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date: 7-Oct-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Enigma by Hugh Sebag-Montefiore

UK Kirkus Review » The author is the great-great-grandson of a former owner of Bletchley Park, when it was simply a country house, before it was bought by the secret service and became the centre where the Germans' supposedly unbreakable Enigma cipher machine was often broken and read. Most books on the subject so far have covered the enormous strategic, and occasional tactical, roles of ultra secret decrypts, but Sebag-Montefiore concentrates on the naval aspects of the story, attempting the difficult task of explaining to a lay readership exactly how the process of decipherment worked. The trickiest mathematical passages come in appendices; the main text is enlivened with numerous tales of naval gallantry, as U-boats were captured and boarded at sea, and of horror, as merchant ships were sunk without warning. An exceedingly complicated subject provides the background for a stirring book. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Enigma book by Hugh Sebag-Montefiore and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Hugh Sebag-Montefiore

Barrister and journalist (currently attached to the Mail on Sunday). His family owned Bletchley Park - here the Enigma code was broken - until they sold it to the British government in 1937.

Books By Hugh Sebag-Montefiore

Somme by Hugh Sebag-Montefiore
Paperback, May 2017
$20.69
Dunkirk by Hugh Sebag-Montefiore
Paperback, April 2015
$20.69
Enigma by Hugh Sebag-Montefiore
Paperback, February 2004
$38.10