Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Every summer, in ten small towns across Cape Cod, the finest college baseball players in the country gather in hopes of making it to "The Show." The hopes are justifiably high: The Cape Cod Baseball League is the best amateur league in the world, producing one out of every six major league players, from Nomar Garciaparra and Frank Thomas to Jeff Bagwell and Barry Zito.Jim Collins chronicles a season in the life of one team--the Chatham A's, perhaps the most celebrated team in the league. Set against the backdrop of a resort town on the bend of the outer Cape, the story charts the changing fortunes of a handful ?of players battling slumps and self-doubt in their effort to make the league playoffs and, more importantly, impress the major league scouts.We learn about everything from the physics of wooden bats and the physiology of elbows to the psychology of slumps and the lure of drugs. In the course of a single dramatic season, with euphoric wins and devastating losses, we come to know the intricacies of the major league scouting network and the rapidly changing profile of major league baseball.In the tradition of The Boys of Summer, The Last Best League is about dreams fulfilled and dreams denied, about Cape Cod and the rites of summer, and about the way one small town grows to love a group of young men coming of age in America.

Buy The Last Best League book by Jim Collins from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780306814181
ISBN-10: 0306814188
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 20mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Da Capo Press Inc
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 23-Feb-2005
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Last Best League book by Jim Collins and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Jim Collins

Jim Collins is former editor of Yankee magazine, a native New Englander, and a former college baseball player at Dartmouth. To research The Last Best League, he relocated his family from New Hampshire to Chatham, Massachusetts, attended every game, and was given complete insider's access to the team and players. He is an accomplished magazine writer whose work has twice been included in Best American Sportswriting.

Books By Author Jim Collins

Lead Yourself First by Jim Collins

Lead Yourself First

Hardback, August 2017
$26.99
Turning Goals into Results by Jim Collins

Turning Goals into Results

Paperback, February 2017
$13.49
Uncommon Hope by Jim Collins

Uncommon Hope

Paperback / softback, February 2017
$34.35
Effective Executive by Jim Collins

The Effective Executive

Hardback, January 2017
$51.63