Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Book of God by Walter Wangerin

Walter Wangerin, Jr. loves to tell a good story. In his latest book, "The Book of God: The Bible as a Novel," he tells the greatest story ever told. "The Book of God" is a compelling narrative that tells a collection of "Bible" stories like a modern bestseller. But it is gripping because it is not fiction, but ages old truth. Ably using fiction techniques of characterization, Wangerin gives readers a new look at Peter and John through the eyes of Jesus. Many of the chapters focus on biblical characters from the famous, like some of the disciples, to the obscure, such as Ehud and Ahikam. Throughout the book, Wangerin is sensitive to the roll of women in the "Bible," even devoting separate chapters to Rebekah and Deborah. "The Book of God" will not replace the Bible itself -- it encourages readers to look at the Bible in a fresh and lively new light. Using what might be called literary homiletics, Wangerin organizes his book into eight parts. Beginning with " The Ancestors" and concluding with " The Messiah, " Wangerin tells God's own story with excitement and reverence.

Buy The Book of God by Walter Wangerin from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780310220213
ISBN-10: 0310220211
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x 45mm)
Pages: 640
Imprint: Zondervan
Publisher: Zondervan
Publish Date: 16-Jan-1998
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Book of God by Walter Wangerin

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Book of God book by Walter Wangerin and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Walter Wangerin

Walter Wangerin Jr. is widely recognized as one of the most gifted writers writing today on the issues of faith and spirituality. Among his books are The Book of God; Paul: A Novel; Whole Prayer; Reliving the Passion; Preparing for Jesus; Mary's First Christmas; Peter's First Easter; Ragman and Other Cries of Faith; Miz Lil and the Chronicles of Grace; Little Lamb, Who Made Thee? Mourning Into Dancing; The Book of Sorrows; A Miniature Cathedral; The Orphean Passages; and Crying for a Vision. He lives in Valparaiso, Indiana, where he is writer-in-residence at Valparaiso University and holds the Jochum Chair.

Books By Walter Wangerin

Book of God by Walter Wangerin
Paperback, May 2011
Naomi and Her Daughters by Walter Wangerin
Hardback, August 2010
Jesus by Walter Wangerin
Paperback, October 2005
Ragman and Other Cries of Faith by Walter Wangerin
Paperback, December 2003