Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Car Crash Culture by M. Brottman

A morbidly fascinating and articulate collection of essays, this book explores the grim underside of America's cult of the automobile and the disturbing, frequently conspiratorial, speculations that arise whenever the car becomes the cause or the site of human death. Through analysis of fatal celebrity car accidents and other examples of death-by-automobile, as well as through personal memoir and forensic reports, cultural critics ponder our very human fascination with the car crash. Topics include the roles and experiences of passengers and bystanders, car crash conspiracy theories, the automobile as a site of murder, studies of car crash cinema, and psychological interpretations of the notion of the "accident". The book features original essays by such underground icons as Kenneth Anger and Adam Parfrey. Among general readers, this book should appeal to fans of J.G. Ballard and David Cronenberg, and to readers interested in conspiracy theory, apocalypse culture, science fiction, underground culture, and secret histories. JFK assassination buffs should enjoy the essay on the presidential limo.

Buy Car Crash Culture by M. Brottman from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780312240387
ISBN-10: 0312240384
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 140mm x mm)
Pages: 356
Imprint: Palgrave Macmillan
Publisher: Palgrave USA
Publish Date: 11-Mar-2002
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Car Crash Culture by M. Brottman

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Car Crash Culture book by M. Brottman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - M. Brottman

MIKITA BROTTMAN has published books on horror films, cult cinema, and the history of cannibalism. She teaches at the Maryland Institute College of Art and writes for a number of alternative and underground publications.