Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Inside by Michael G. Santos

American jails and prisons confine nearly 13.5 million people each year, and it is estimated that six to seven percent of the population will be confined in their lifetimes. Despite these disturbing numbers, little is known about life inside beyond the mythology of popular culture. Michael Santos has dedicated the last two decades of his life to changing that. In his first book for a mainstream audience, he takes us behind bars and into the cellblock. Santos captures the voices of his fellow prisoners with perfect pitch, the tragic and at times inspiring stories from drug schemes, murders for hire, and even a prostitution ring that trades on the flesh of female prison guards. This book at last illuminates the varied ways in which men experience life behind bars in America.

Buy Inside by Michael G. Santos from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780312343507
ISBN-10: 0312343507
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Saint Martin's Griffin,U.S.
Publisher: Griffin Publishing
Publish Date: 26-Jun-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Inside by Michael G. Santos

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Inside book by Michael G. Santos and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Michael G. Santos

Michael G. Santos was convicted in 1987, at the age of twenty-three, of crimes relating to his participation in a drug-trafficking scheme and sentenced to forty-five years in prison. He has earned a bachelor of arts and a master of arts. He contributes to an extensive website as a resource for those who seek to understand the prison system and the people it holds. He is currently designated to the Federal Prison Camp in Lompoc, California, and based on his impeccable disciplinary record, looks forward to his release in 2013.