Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Night Lamp by Jack Vance

Found as a child with no memory of his past, adopted by a scholarly couple who raised him as their own, Jaro never quiet fit into the rigidly defined Society of Thanet.When his foster parents are killed in a mysterious bombing, Jaro Fath sets out to discover the truth of his origins--a quest that will take him across light-years and into the depths of the past.

Buy Night Lamp by Jack Vance from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780312864729
ISBN-10: 0312864728
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 146mm x 25mm)
Pages: 380
Imprint: St Martin's Press
Publisher: St Martin's Press
Publish Date: 31-Mar-1998
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Night Lamp by Jack Vance

Book Reviews - Night Lamp by Jack Vance

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Night Lamp book by Jack Vance and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Jack Vance

Jack Vance, born John Holbrook Vance in 1916, was one of the greatest masters of fantasy and science fiction. He was the winner of many awards for his work and career: the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement. Among his awards for particular works were the Hugo award in 1963 for "The Dragon Masters," in 1967 for "The Last Castle," and in 2010 for his memoir "This is Me, Jack Vance!" He won a Nebula Award in 1966 for "The Last Castle." He won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel in 1990 for "Lyonesse: Madouc." . He also won an Edgar for the best first mystery novel in 1961 for "The Man in the Cage."Vance published more than 60 books in his long career, sometimes under pseudonyms. Among them were 11 mystery novels, three of them as Ellery Queen. He wrote some of the first, and perhaps best, examples of "planetary adventures," including a novel called" Big Planet." His "Dying Earth" series were among the most influential fantasy novels ever written, inspiring both generations of writers, and the creators of Dungeons and Dragons. Vance's series from Tor include "The Demon Princes," "The Cadwal Chronicles," "The Dying Earth," "The Planet of Adventure," and "Alastor." Vance's last novels were a series of two: "Ports of Call" and "Lurulu."Jack Vance was a sailor, a writer, an adventurer, a music critic, and a raconteur. He died in May 2013.

Books By Jack Vance

Night Lamp by Jack Vance
Paperback, May 2015
Jack Vance SF Gateway Omnibus by Jack Vance
Paperback, October 2013
Complete Lyonesse by Jack Vance
Hardback, August 2010
Tales of the Dying Earth by Jack Vance
Paperback, December 2000