Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge

Vernor Vinge may be the most brilliant science fiction writer of the past 20 years, most recently earning two Hugo Awards for his novels A Fire Upon the Deep (1992) and A Deepness in the Sky (1999). His earlier ground-breaking works, such as True Names (1981) and Marooned in Realtime (1986), won him a wide readership. Now Vinge presents a feast of great SF sure to delight. From his earliest stories in the mid-1960s, to his longer works of the 1970s and '80s, these pieces display Vinge's sense of wonder. Those who love his novels will find his short fiction even more impressive. In such classics as "The Ungoverned" and "The Blabber", Vinge shows the form that has garnered him numerous Hugo and Nebula Award nominations. And in this chronologically arranged showcase, there's a final treat - an original novella found only in this collection.

Buy The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780312875848
ISBN-10: 0312875843
Format: Paperback
(235mm x 165mm x mm)
Pages: 464
Imprint: St Martin's Press
Publisher: St Martin's Press
Publish Date: 17-Aug-2002
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge

Book Reviews - The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge book by Vernor Vinge and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Vernor Vinge

Vernor Vinge has won five Hugo Awards, including one for each of his last three novels, A Fire Upon the Deep (1992), A Deepness in the Sky (1999), and Rainbow's End (2006). Known for his rigorous hard-science approach to his science fiction, he became an iconic figure among cybernetic scientists with the publication in 1981 of his novella "True Names," which is considered a seminal, visionary work of Internet fiction. His many books also include Marooned in Realtime and The Peace War.Born in Waukesha, Wisconsin and raised in Central Michigan, Vinge is the son of geographers. Fascinated by science and particularly computers from an early age, he has a Ph.D. in computer science, and taught mathematics and computer science at San Diego State University for thirty years. He has gained a great deal of attention both here and abroad for his theory of the coming machine intelligence Singularity. Sought widely as a speaker to both business and scientific groups, he lives in San Diego, California.

Books By Vernor Vinge

True Names by Vernor Vinge
Paperback, September 2016
Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge
Paperback, July 2016
Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge
Paperback, January 2016
Zones of Thought by Vernor Vinge
Paperback, October 2010