Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Falling Towards England by Clive James

'When we got off the ship in Southampton in that allegedly mild January of 1962 I had nothing to declare at customs except goose-pimples under my white nylon drip-dry shirt.' In the first volume of Unreliable Memoirs, we said farewell to our hero as he set sail from Sydney Harbour, bound for London, fame and fortune. Finding the first of these proved relatively simple; the second two less so. Undaunted, Clive moved into a bed and breakfast in a Swiss Cottage where he practised the Twist, anticipated poetical masterpieces and worried about his wardrobe. 'A comic triumph, full of terrific jokes and brilliantly sustained setpieces' Ian Hamilton, London Review of Books 'It is something to do not merely with talent but with energy, chutzpah, appetite. Mr James has total mastery of his medium' Anthony Burgess, Observer

Buy Falling Towards England by Clive James from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780330294379
ISBN-10: 0330294377
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 130mm x 12mm)
Pages: 176
Imprint: Picador
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publish Date: 1-Oct-1986
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Falling Towards England by Clive James

Book Reviews - Falling Towards England by Clive James

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Falling Towards England book by Clive James and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Clive James

Clive James is the author of more than thirty books. As well as his memoirs, he has published essays, literary and television criticism, travel writing, verse and novels. As a television performer he has appeared regularly for both the BBC and ITV, most notably as writer and presenter of the Postcard series of travel documentaries. He helped to found the independent television production company Watchmaker and the Internet enterprise Welcome Stranger, one of whose offshoots is a multimedia personal website, In 1992 he was made a Member of the Order of Australia and in 2003 he was awarded the Philip Hodgins memorial medal for literature.

Books By Clive James

Play All by Clive James
Paperback, June 2017
Injury Time by Clive James
Hardback, April 2017
Poetry Notebook by Clive James
Paperback, September 2016
Sentenced to Life by Clive James
Paperback, September 2016