Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - While I Live by John Marsden

The town of Wirrawee is emerging from war, slowly. But it's not the same Australia as before the war. A new nation exists just a few miles away, and a new border that separates Australia from its invaders. Or does it? For Ellie Linton, being back on the farm with her parents, is what makes the terrible things that happened during the war all worthwhile. It's where she belongs. But the war won't let her go. It's a new kind of fight. And the enemy isn't always from the other side of the border.

Buy While I Live by John Marsden from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780330364843
ISBN-10: 0330364847
Format: Paperback
(182mm x 110mm x 19mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Pan Australia
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 1-Jul-2004
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - While I Live by John Marsden

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about While I Live book by John Marsden and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Book Review: While I Live by John Marsden - Reviewed by (03 Sep 2011)

While I Live by John Marsden is the first book in The Ellie Chronicles. Fans of John Marsden would be aware that Ellie was the main protagonist in The Tomorrow Series. The Tomorrow Series was about a group of teenagers fighting an unknown army who had invaded their land. While this book does continue with that story, it is in a new Australia, a divided country that has been split into ‘us’ and ‘them’ and neither side seems to be particularly happy with the division of land. The result is a series of border raids into Ellie’s town.

However, readers should not expect The Ellie Chronicles to have the same pace or action as The Tomorrow Series. While there is a certain amount of fighting and action, the story focuses on how Ellie is coping in the aftermath of the war, trying to run a farm and go to school amongst some borer skirmishes.

While the tone and voice of the book is definitely the same as the previous series, this book seemed to be more tragic compared to the previous series, where the group of plucky teenagers excelled in their attempts of guerrilla war fare. Even when things went wrong, they didn’t have a tragic air to them. Ellie’s voice in these books was always quite pragmatic. However, in this new series, the voice - although unmistakeable as Ellie - has a tragic feel. When an early disaster strikes, Ellie is presented with a tragic circumstance, and things seem to get worse for her. She comes across as the victim.

Although having enjoyed the book, I was disappointed in expecting the same level of variety, action, and interesting relationships developing. Which is perhaps unfair, seeing as though the book is not a continuation of the previous series, it is a whole new series. I think I perhaps was expecting the old gang back together again fighting their battles in same comradeship they displayed in the previous series.

Book Review: While I Live by John Marsden - Reviewed by (08 Jun 2011)

So if you have finished the whole tomorrow series and think it is all over... you are terribly wrong! The war is offically over in political terms but for the surviors it is still very alive and ruthless. John Marsden creates a new series that allows readers to have an understanding that even after a war is declared over, terror and violence continue. Although Ellie and her friends try to go back and live their previous lives, the war is still in the back of their minds. I feel as thought I am maturing at the same rate as Ellie is when reading this book.

Author Biography - John Marsden

John Marsden grew up in three states of Australia, and now lives in Victoria. John loved school so much that he started his own. Or, he hated school so much that he started his own in 2006 so that other kids wouldn't have to go through the suffering he experienced. Candlebark is in a beautiful forest near Hanging Rock, and is John's proudest achievement. John has published more than 40 books, including the bestselling The Tomorrow Series. Tomorrow When the War Began was made into a highly successful movie in 2010. John is one of Australia's biggest selling and most awarded authors.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought While I Live by John Marsden also bought the following titles:

Books By John Marsden

Home and Away by John Marsden
Paperback, July 2016
Third Day, the Frost by John Marsden
Paperback, April 2016
Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden
Paperback, April 2016
Dead of the Night by John Marsden
Paperback, April 2016