Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell

Riley Rose doesn't want to be at Spirit Ranch Holiday Camp. Riley wants to be partying with her best friend Chloe at the beautiful Ben Sebatini's house. She has a plan to get away from the jumpsuit-wearing counsellors, the feel-good mantras, do-gooder campers and the monotonous schedule of team-building exercises and outdoor activities. But is everything at the Spirit Ranch as it appears? What secrets are waiting for discovery in the abandoned Fraser house? And why doesn't anyone want to talk about the accident that landed the mysterious Dylan in a wheelchair last year?

Buy Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780330424639
ISBN-10: 0330424637
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 130mm x 20mm)
Pages: 252
Imprint: Pan Australia
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 1-Nov-2008
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell

Book Reviews - Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell

US Kirkus Review » When overweight 16-year-old Riley Rose begins acting out after her mother's death by seeing how many boys she can bed, her born-again dad sends her to Spirit Ranch Holiday Camp for a dose of morality. There she meets wheelchair-bound Dylan, who shares her anger and outsider status. Soon they are sneaking smokes, racing around in a stolen dune buggy and falling in love. By the end of the week, Riley is open to the idea of spirituality, if not orthodoxy, and is able to forgive some of her more unenlightened bunkmates through the miracle of Dylan's acceptance. Most of the secondary characters are either underdeveloped or border on stereotype (pretty, mean girl, hot counselor cad, secretly gay camp director), and the multiple issues (weight, promiscuity, parental death, physical disability) threaten to overwhelm Riley's funny, irreverent voice, which is full of righteous indignation for the "Chubby Con Carnes" of the world. However, Riley's search for spiritual meaning is compelling and should appeal to fans of Robin Brande's Evolution, Me and Other Freaks of Nature (2007). (Fiction. 13 & up) (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Everything Beautiful book by Simmone Howell and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Simmone Howell

Simmone Howell is an award-winning short story-writer and screenwriter. Her short film Pity24 won an Awgie award. Her first novel, Notes from the Teenage Underground, won the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for Young Adult Fiction in 2007 and the inaugural Golden Inky, and has been published around the world.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell also bought the following titles:

Books By Simmone Howell

Girl Defective by Simmone Howell
Hardback, September 2015
$36.69
Notes from the Teenage Underground by Simmone Howell
Paperback, October 2006
$15.25