1300 36 33 32

Autumn, 1541. King Henry VIII has set out on a spectacular Progress to the North to attend an extravagant submission of his rebellious subjects in York. Already in the city are lawyer Matthew Shardlake and his assistant Jack Barak. As well as assisting with legal work processing petitions to the King, Shardlake has reluctantly undertaken a special mission - to ensure the welfare of an important but dangerous conspirator being returned to London for interrogation. But the murder of a local glazier involves Shardlake in deeper mysteries, connected not only to the prisoner in York Castle but to the royal family itself. And when Shardlake and Barak stumble upon a cache of secret papers which could threaten the Tudor throne, a chain of events unfolds that will lead Shardlake facing the most terrifying fate of the age ...'Sansom is a master storyteller' Guardian 'So compulsive that, until you reach its final page, you'll have to be almost physically prised away from it' Sunday Times 'Deeper, stronger and subtler than The Name of the Rose' Independent on Sunday

Buy Sovereign book by C. J. Sansom from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780330436083
ISBN-10: 0330436082
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 130mm x 41mm)
Pages: 672
Imprint: Pan Books
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publish Date: 2-Dec-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sovereign book by C. J. Sansom and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - C. J. Sansom

C. J. Sansom was educated at Birmingham University, where he took a BA and then a Ph.D. in history. After practising as a solicitor, he became a full-time writer. Sovereign is the third novel in Sansom's acclaimed Shardlake series, following Dissolution and Dark Fire . He lives in Sussex.

Books By Author C. J. Sansom

Winter in Madrid by C. J. Sansom

Winter in Madrid

Paperback, September 2016
Lamentation by C. J. Sansom


Paperback, September 2015
Heartstone by C. J. Sansom


Paperback, July 2015
Revelation by C. J. Sansom


Paperback, July 2015