Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - A Bernard Shaw Chronology by A. M. Gibbs

A.M. Gibbs provides a comprehensive account of the life, career and associations of one of the most significant and influential literary figures of the modern age. Drawing on a wide range of published and unpublished material, the work aims to throw new light on the complex fabric of Shaw's career as playwright, novelist, orator, political activist, social commentator, avant garde thinker and controversialist. Images of Shaw's daily life, and of his tangled love affairs, flirtations and friendships, are intertwined with the records of his productive career as a public figure and creative writer, in a fully documented study which is both a scholarly resource and a biographical portrait. An introductory chapter explores theoretical issues in biography raised by the chronology form; and a chapter on Shaw's ancestry and family supplies new evidence about his Irish background. A "Who's Who" section contains thumbnail sketches of over 200 contemporaries of Shaw who had significant associations with him.

Buy A Bernard Shaw Chronology by A. M. Gibbs from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780333633274
ISBN-10: 033363327X
Format: Hardback
(216mm x 140mm x 38mm)
Pages: 451
Imprint: Palgrave Macmillan
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
Publish Date: 14-Feb-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - A Bernard Shaw Chronology by A. M. Gibbs

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bernard Shaw Chronology book by A. M. Gibbs and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - A. M. Gibbs

A.M. GIBBS is Emeritus Professor of English at Macquarie University, Sydney. He is a graduate of Melbourne and Oxford Universities and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities. He has written and edited five books on the life and work of Bernard Shaw, including The Art and Mind of Shaw: Essays in Criticism (1983), Shaw: Interviews and Recollections (1990), and 'Heartbreak House': Preludes of Apocalypse (1994).