Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - I Richard by Elizabeth George

A collection of short stories from the internationally bestselling author and creator of Inspector Lynley.Three of these stories were originally published under the title The Evidence Exposed. This volume contains two brand new stories, a revised version of The Evidence Exposed, and new introductions by the author to all five stories.

Buy I Richard by Elizabeth George from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780340822401
ISBN-10: 0340822406
Format: Paperback
(175mm x 111mm x 19mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Hodder Paperback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Publish Date: 15-Nov-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - I Richard by Elizabeth George

Book Reviews - I Richard by Elizabeth George

UK Kirkus Review » The first of this collection of five crime stories, Exposure, is a new version of one of George's earliest offerings and features her aristocratic detective Thomas Lynley. On a visit to a stately home a tourist dies and some valuable silver goes missing. Are the thief and the murderer one and the same or is this sheer coincidence? The final story, I, Richard, concerns a man who is obsessed with the book he is writing in defence of Richard III. To ensure his success Malcolm Cousins incites his mistress to murder but, quick to perceive how he can use her selfish designs for his own ends, he becomes the victim of his own planning. Of the three stories in between, The Surprise of His Life, another murder, ends in dark humour. Good Fences Aren't Always Enough deals gruesomely with misunderstanding and tragic conditioning and Remember, I'll Always Love You is about betrayal. In this tale, Charlotte Lawton, recently widowed and suspecting her late husband of infidelity, delves into layer after layer of pretence. The final betrayal of all is chilling and George has saved one last shock to the end of the story. Elizabeth George offers clever plots and the accessible reading so essential to collections of short stories. This is a book which will be ideal for the train, plane or the beach. The writing is well detailed and character quickly established. George introduces each story herself, which perhaps demystifies her craft more than some readers will like, but these short prefaces can easily be ignored. My only cavil is that when she creates Britons their dialogue does not seem truly authentic. In her own, American, idiom both she and her characters seem more at home and believable. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about I Richard book by Elizabeth George and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Elizabeth George

Elizabeth George is the author of highly acclaimed novels of psychological suspense. Her first novel, A Great Deliverance, was honoured with the Anthony and Agatha Best First Novel awards in America and received the Grand Prix de Litterature Policiere in France. It was made into a BBC 1 Drama in March 2001. Well-Schooled in Murder was awarded the prestigious German prize for international mystery fiction, the MIMI (1990). An Edgar and Macavity Nominee as well as a New York Times and international bestselling author, Elizabeth George divides her time between California and Kensington, London.

Books By Elizabeth George

Edge of the Light by Elizabeth George
Paperback, August 2017
Proverbs for a Woman's Day by Elizabeth George
Paperback, March 2017
Banquet of Consequences by Elizabeth George
Paperback, February 2017
Best American Mystery Stories 2016 by Elizabeth George
Paperback / softback, October 2016