Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Little Face by Sophie Hannah

The first extraordinary psychological suspense thriller from internationally bestselling author Sophie Hannah. Not to be missed for readers of Tana French and Liane Moriarty.'Terrifying' Scotsman'Ingenious' Sunday TimesIt's every mother's nightmare...She's only been gone two hours.Her husband David was meant to be looking after their two-week-old daughter. But when Alice Fancourt walks into the nursery, her terrifying ordeal begins, for Alice insists the baby in the cot is a stranger she's never seen before.With an increasingly hostile and menacing David swearing she must either be mad or lying, how can Alice make the police believe her before it's too late?

Buy Little Face by Sophie Hannah from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780340840320
ISBN-10: 0340840323
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 155mm x 25mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Hodder Paperback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Publish Date: 24-Aug-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Little Face by Sophie Hannah

US Kirkus Review » Is Alice deranged or has her husband swapped her newborn child for another baby?Every character in British novelist Hannah's slightly unhinged psychodrama shows signs of mental disorder, from desperate Alice, convinced a different baby has been substituted for her two-week-old daughter Florence; to her menacing husband David; his bossy control freak of a mother Vivienne; the smitten but introvert cop Simon, who has been put on the case; and Simon's female boss Charlie, who is not yet over Simon's sexual rejection of her at a party a year earlier. There are echoes of Gaslight in David's increasingly sadistic humiliations of fragile Alice, intensifying her sense of isolation and despair; and hints of Rebecca in the scenario of an alienated victim/wife trapped in a vast house - The Elms, Vivienne's sizeable home, where they all live - and out of her depth. When Alice and the baby disappear, Charlie is forced to take Simon's hunches more seriously and the murder of Laura Cryer, David's first wife, is reopened. Slowly the plot winds to a conclusion in which two possibly mad, utterly driven women struggle for the upper hand.Not quite Hitchcock, but a tautly claustrophobic spiral of a story delivered with self-belief. (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Little Face book by Sophie Hannah and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer. Her crime novels have been translated into 34 languages and published in 51 countries. Her psychological thriller The Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Thriller of the Year in 2013. In 2014 and 2016, Sophie published The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket, the first new Hercule Poirot mysteries since Agatha Christie's death, both of which were national and international bestsellers. Sophie's novels The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie is also a bestselling poet who has been shortlisted for the TS Eliot award. Her poetry is studied at GCSE and A-level throughout the UK. Sophie is an Honorary Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband, two children and dog.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Little Face by Sophie Hannah also bought the following titles:

Books By Sophie Hannah

Deadlier by Sophie Hannah
Hardback, October 2017
$40.49
Did You See Melody? by Sophie Hannah
Paperback, August 2017
$26.99
Closed Casket by Sophie Hannah
Paperback / softback, June 2017
$24.70
Game for All the Family by Sophie Hannah
Paperback / softback, April 2017
$26.35