Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Lives Of The Great Composers by Harold C. Schonberg

The author of this work traces the consecutive line of composers from Monteverdi to the tonalists of the 1990s through a series of biographical chapters. Music is shown as a continually evolving art, with no geniuses, however great, escaping the influence of their predecessors. The great composers are presented as human beings who lived in and related to the real world. Bach, Handel, Mozart, Beethoven, Chopin, Verdi, Wagner, Mahler and others are included, their lives woven together in detail and anecdote. This new edition extends the book's coverage to later composers.

Buy The Lives Of The Great Composers by Harold C. Schonberg from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780349109725
ISBN-10: 0349109729
Format: Paperback
(132mm x 201mm x 50mm)
Pages: 768
Imprint: Abacus
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 3-Sep-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Lives Of The Great Composers by Harold C. Schonberg

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lives Of The Great Composers book by Harold C. Schonberg and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Harold C. Schonberg

Harold C Schonberg was born and raised in New York City. He served on the staff of the NEW YORK TIMES for nearly thirty years and was senior music critic from 1960 until 1980. He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Criticism in 1971, the first in the field of music to receive this honour.

Books By Harold C. Schonberg

Lives of the Great Composers by Harold C. Schonberg
Hardback, April 1997