Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Plays by the Nobel-laureate, brought together for the first timeIn the history plays that comprise "The Haitian Trilogy"--"Henri Christophe, Drums and Colours" and "The Haytian Earth"--Derek Walcott, recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature, uses verse to tell the story of his native West Indies as a four-hundred-year cycle of war, conquest and rebellion.In "Henri Christophe" and "The Haytian Earth, " Walcott re-casts the legacy of Haiti's violent revolutionaries--led by Toussaint L'Ouverture, Jean Jacques Dessalines and Henri Christophe--whose rebellion established the first black state in the Americas, but whose cruelty becomes a parable of racial pride and corruption. "Drums and Colours, " commissioned in 1958 to celebrate the first parliament in Trinidad, is a grand pageant linking the lives of complex, ambiguous heroes: Columbus and Raleigh; Toussaint; and George William Gordon, a martyr of the constitutional era.From" Henri Christophe's "high style to the bracing vernacular of "The Haytian Earth, " to the epic scale and scope of Drums and Colours, in these plays Walcott, one of our most celebrated poets, carved a place in the modern theater for the history of the West Indies, and a sounding room for his own maturing voice.

Buy The Haitian Trilogy book by Derek Walcott from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780374528133
ISBN-10: 0374528136
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 140mm x 30mm)
Pages: 434
Imprint: Pan Macmillan
Publisher: Pan Macmillan South Africa
Country of Publication: South Africa


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Haitian Trilogy book by Derek Walcott and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Derek Walcott

Derek Walcott was born in St. Lucia in 1930. His "Collected Poems: 1948-1984" was published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 1986; his subsequent works include the book-length poem "Omeros "(1990), "The Bounty" (1997) and "Tiepolo's Hound" (2000), illustrated with the poet's own paintings, all FSG books. He received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1992.

Books By Author Derek Walcott

Poetry of Derek Walcott 1948-2013 by Derek Walcott

The Poetry of Derek Walcott 1948-2013

Paperback, March 2017
Morning, Paramin by Derek Walcott

Morning, Paramin

Hardback, November 2016
Poetry of Derek Walcott ,1948-2013 by Derek Walcott

The Poetry of Derek Walcott ,1948-2013

Hardback, February 2014
Francesco Clemente by Derek Walcott

Francesco Clemente

Hardback, July 2011