Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - 33 Moments of Happiness by Ingo Schulze

An intriguing, fabulously bizarre debut collection of short stories by prize-winning German writer Ingo Schulze, author of Simple Stories.""These thirty-three macabre, often comical short pieces revolve around moments of odd bliss-moments seized by characters who have found ways to conquer the bleakness of everyday life in the chaotic world of post-communist Russia. Peopled by Mafia gunmen, desperate young prostitutes, bewildered foreign businessmen, and even a trio of hungry devils, the stories are by turns tragic and bleakly funny. From a sly retelling of the legend of St. Nicholas featuring a rich American named Nick, to a lavish gourmet feast in which the young female cook ends up as the main dish, these stories are above all playful and even surreal-and many of them are masterful tributes to Russian writers from Gogol to Nabokov. Translated by John E. Woods.

Buy 33 Moments of Happiness by Ingo Schulze from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780375700040
ISBN-10: 0375700048
Format: Paperback
(204mm x 133mm x 19mm)
Imprint: Vintage Books USA
Publish Date: 1-Jun-2001
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - 33 Moments of Happiness by Ingo Schulze

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about 33 Moments of Happiness book by Ingo Schulze and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Ingo Schulze

Ingo Schulze, born in Dresden in 1962, studied classical philology at the University of Jena. He worked as the dramaturg at the Altenburg Theater until 1990, and then became a newspaper editor, a job that took him to St. Petersburg for six months in 1993. Since then he has lived in Berlin. His first book, 33 Moments of Happiness has won both the prestigious Doblin Prize and the Willner Prize for Literature. Three of the stories in this collection have recently appeared in The New Yorker. "From the Hardcover edition."

Books By Ingo Schulze

One More Story by Ingo Schulze
Hardback, March 2010
Simple Stories by Ingo Schulze
Paperback, April 2002