Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

From a Japanese master of romantic and sexual obsession come two novels that treat traditional themes with sly wit and startling psychological sophistication. In The Secret History of the Lord of Musashi , Junichir Tanizaki reimagines the exploits of a legendary samurai as a sadomasochistic dance between the hero and the wife of his enemy. Arrowroot , though set in the twentieth century, views an adult orphan s search for his mother s past through the translucent shoji screen of ancient literature and myth. Both works are replete with shocking juxtapositions. Severed heads become objects of erotic fixation. Foxes take on human shape. An aristocratic lady loves and pities the man she is conspiring to destroy. This supple translation reveals the full scope of Tanizaki s gift: his confident storytelling, luminous detail, and astonishingly vital female characters."

Buy The Secret History of the Lord of Musashi and Arrowroot book by Junichiro Tanizaki from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780375719318
ISBN-10: 0375719318
Format: Paperback / softback
(206mm x 133mm x 15mm)
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage
Publish Date: 11-Mar-2003
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Secret History of the Lord of Musashi and Arrowroot book by Junichiro Tanizaki and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Junichiro Tanizaki

Junichiro Tanizaki was born in Tokyo in 1886 and lived there until the earthquake of 1923, when he moved to the Kyoto-Osaka region, the scene of his novel The Makioka Sisters (1943-48). Among his works are Naomi (1924), Some Prefer Nettles (1928), Quicksand (1930), Arrowroot (1931), A Portrait of Shunkin (1933), The Secret History of the Lord of Musashi (1935), modern versions of The Tale of Genji (1941, 1954, and 1965), Captain Shigemoto's Mother (1949), The Key (1956), and Diary of a Mad Old Man (1961). By 1930 he had gained such renown that an edition of his complete works was published, and he was awarded Japan's Imperial Prize in Literature in 1949. Tanizaki died in 1965.

Books By Author Junichiro Tanizaki

Maids by Junichiro Tanizaki

The Maids

Hardback, April 2017
Devils in Daylight by Junichiro Tanizaki

Devils in Daylight

Paperback / softback, April 2017
Key & Diary of a Mad Old Man by Junichiro Tanizaki

The Key & Diary of a Mad Old Man

Paperback, September 2004