1300 36 33 32

A searing satire of political corruption and social injustice from the celebrated author of Things Fall Apart In the fictional West African nation of Kangan, newly independent of British rule, the hopes and dreams of democracy have been quashed by a fierce military dictatorship. Chris Oriko is a member of the president's cabinet for life, and one of the leader's oldest friends. When the president is charged with censoring the opportunistic editor of the state-run newspaper--another childhood friend--Chris's loyalty and ideology are put to the test. The fate of Kangan hangs in the balance as tensions rise and a devious plot is set in motion to silence a firebrand critic. From Chinua Achebe, the legendary author of Things Fall Apart , Anthills of the Savannah is "A vision of social change that strikes us with the force of prophecy" ( USA Today ).

Buy Anthills of the Savannah book by Chinua Achebe from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780385260459
ISBN-10: 0385260458
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 133mm x 15mm)
Pages: 216
Imprint: Anchor Books
Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group Inc
Publish Date: 1-Jan-1920
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Anthills of the Savannah book by Chinua Achebe and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Chinua Achebe

Chinua Achebe (1930-2013) was born in Nigeria. Widely considered to be the father of modern African literature, he is best known for his masterful African Trilogy, consisting of Things Fall Apart, Arrow of God, and No Longer at Ease. The trilogy tells the story of modern Nigeria over three generations from first colonial contact to urban migration and the breakdown of traditional cultures. He is also the author of Anthills of the Savannah, A Man of the People, Girls at War and Other Stories, Home and Exile, Hopes and Impediments, Collected Poems, The Education of a British-Protected Child, Chike and the River, and There Was a Country. He was the David and Marianna Fisher University Professor and Professor of Africana Studies at Brown University and, for over 15 years, was the Charles P. Stevenson Jr. Professor of Languages and Literature at Bard College. Achebe is the recipient of the Nigerian National Merit Award, Nigeria's highest award for intellectual achievement. In 2007, Achebe was awarded the Man Booker International Prize for lifetime achievement.

Books By Author Chinua Achebe

There Was a Country by Chinua Achebe

There Was a Country

Paperback / softback, September 2013
How the Leopard Got His Claws by Chinua Achebe

How the Leopard Got His Claws

Hardback, September 2011
Chike and the River by Chinua Achebe

Chike and the River

Paperback / softback, August 2011
Education of a British-protected Child by Chinua Achebe

The Education of a British-protected Child

Paperback, January 2011