Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Miramar by Najaib Maohfauoz

This highly charged fable set in Alexandria, Egypt, in the late 1960s, centers on theguests ofthe Pension Miramar as they compete for the attention of theyoung servant Zohra. Zohra is a beautifulpeasant girl who fled her family to escape an arranged marriage.She becomes the focus of jealousies and conflicts among the Miramar's residents, whoinclude an assortment of radicals and aristocrats flounderingin the wake of the Egyptian revolution. It becomes clear that the uneducated but strong-willed Zohra is the only one among them who knows what she wants.Asthe situation spirals toward violence and tragedy, the same sequence of eventsis retold from the perspective offour differentresidents, in the manner of Akira Kurosawa's Rashomon, weaving a nuanced portrait ofthe intricacies of post-revolutionary Egyptian life."

Buy Miramar by Najaib Maohfauoz from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780385264785
ISBN-10: 038526478X
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 133mm x 12mm)
Pages: 183
Imprint: Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group
Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group Inc
Publish Date: 14-Dec-1992
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Miramar by Najaib Maohfauoz

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Miramar book by Najaib Maohfauoz and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Najaib Maohfauoz

Naguib Mahfouz was born in Cairo in 1911 and began writing when he was seventeen. His nearly forty novels and hundreds of short stories range from re-imaginings of ancient myths to subtle commentaries on contemporary Egyptian politics and culture. Of his many works, most famous is The Cairo Trilogy, consisting of Palace Walk (1956), Palace of Desire (1957), and Sugar Street (1957), which focuses on a Cairo family through three generations, from 1917 until 1952. In 1988, he was the first writer in Arabic to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. He died in August 2006.

Books By Najaib Maohfauoz

Harafish by Najaib Maohfauoz
Paperback, September 1997
Arabian Nights and Days by Najaib Maohfauoz
Paperback, October 1995