Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - After Photography by Fred Ritchin

After Photography examines the myriad ways in which the digital revolution has fundamentally altered the way we receive visual information, from photos of news events taken by ordinary people on cell phones to the widespread use of image surveillance. In a world beset by critical problems and ambiguous boundaries, Fred Ritchin argues that it is time to begin energetically exploring the possibilities created by digital innovations and to use them to better understand our rapidly changing world. Ritchin-one of our most influential commentators on photography-investigates the future of visual media as the digital revolution transforms images into a hypertextual medium, fundamentally changing the way we conceptualize the world. Simultaneously, the increased manipulation of photographs makes photography suspect as reliable documentation, raising questions about its role in recounting personal and public histories. In the tradition of John Berger and Susan Sontag, Ritchin analyzes photography's failings and reveals untapped potentials for the medium.

Buy After Photography by Fred Ritchin from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780393050240
ISBN-10: 0393050246
Format: Hardback
(236mm x 178mm x 25mm)
Pages: 200
Imprint: WW Norton & Co
Publisher: WW Norton & Co
Publish Date: 14-Nov-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - After Photography by Fred Ritchin

Book Reviews - After Photography by Fred Ritchin

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about After Photography book by Fred Ritchin and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Fred Ritchin

Fred Ritchin is the director of PixelPress and a professor of photography and imaging at New York University. He was named one of the 100 most important people in photography by American Photo magazine. He lives in New York City.

Books By Fred Ritchin

N. O. K. by Fred Ritchin
Hardback, October 2017
$77.30
1001 Photographs by Fred Ritchin
Paperback, September 2017
$39.39
Magnum Photobook by Fred Ritchin
Hardback, November 2016
$90.00
Meinrad Schade - War Without War by Fred Ritchin
Hardback, March 2015
$93.60