1300 36 33 32

Just when we thought we knew everything about Lewis Carroll, here comes a highly original biography that will appeal to Alice fans everywhere. Fascinated by the inner life of Charles Lutwidge Dodson, Robin Wilson, a Carroll scholar and a noted mathematics professor, has produced this revelatory book filled with more than one hundred striking and often playful illustrations that examines the many inspirations and sources for Carroll's fantastical writings, mathematical and otherwise. As Wilson demonstrates, Carroll who published serious, if occasionally eccentric, works in the fields of geometry, logic, and algebra made significant contributions to subjects as varied as voting patterns and the design of tennis tournaments, in the process creating imaginative recreational puzzles based on mathematical ideas. In the tradition of Sylvia Nasar's A Beautiful Mind and Andrew Hodges's Alan Turing, this is an engaging look at the incredible genius of one of mathematics' and literature's most enigmatic minds.

Buy Lewis Carroll in Numberland book by Robin Wilson from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780393060270
ISBN-10: 0393060276
Format: Hardback
(250mm x 150mm x 23mm)
Pages: 208
Imprint: WW Norton & Co
Publisher: WW Norton & Co
Publish Date: 26-Dec-2009
Country of Publication: United States

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lewis Carroll in Numberland book by Robin Wilson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review


Books By Author Robin Wilson

Combinatorics: A Very Short Introduction by Robin Wilson

Combinatorics: A Very Short Introduction

Paperback, April 2016
$20.82
Combinatorics: Ancient & Modern by Robin Wilson

Combinatorics: Ancient & Modern

Paperback, February 2015
$55.76
Four Colors Suffice by Robin Wilson

Four Colors Suffice

Paperback, December 2013
$49.49