Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Rise of American Democracy by Sean Wilentz

Acclaimed as the definitive study of the period by one of the greatest American historians, The Rise of American Democracy traces a historical arc from the earliest days of the republic to the opening shots of the Civil War. Ferocious clashes among the Founders over the role of ordinary citizens in a government of "we, the people" were eventually resolved in the triumph of Andrew Jackson. Thereafter, Sean Wilentz shows, a fateful division arose between two starkly opposed democracies-a division contained until the election of Abraham Lincoln sparked its bloody resolution. Winner of the Bancroft Award, shortlisted for the Pulitzer Prize, finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2005 and best book of New York magazine and The Economist.

Buy The Rise of American Democracy by Sean Wilentz from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780393931112
ISBN-10: 0393931110
Format: Paperback
(211mm x 140mm x 30mm)
Pages: 256
Imprint: WW Norton & Co
Publisher: WW Norton & Co
Publish Date: 1-Dec-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Rise of American Democracy by Sean Wilentz

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Rise of American Democracy book by Sean Wilentz and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Sean Wilentz

Sean Wilentz is the George Henry Davis 1886 Professor of American History at Princeton University and author of the Bancroft Prize-winning The Rise of American Democracy, Bob Dylan in America, and many other works.

Books By Sean Wilentz

Politicians and the Egalitarians by Sean Wilentz
Paperback, May 2017
Emerging Republican Majority by Sean Wilentz
Paperback, November 2014
Kingdom of Matthias by Sean Wilentz
Paperback, April 2012
360 Sound by Sean Wilentz
Hardback, February 2012