Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Coward Plays by Noel Coward

Volume Four of Noel Coward's plays contains a selection of Coward's plays from the thirties and forties which includes Blithe Spirit, a comedy that centres around the spirit medium Madame Arcati. The play that mocks sudden death was produced at precisely the moment when bombs were bringing it to Britain "I shall ever be grateful, for the almost psychic gift that enabled me to write Blithe Spirit in five days during one of the darkest years of the war." The play was for years the longest-running comedy in the history of British theatre. Present Laughter follows the life of Garry Essendine, a world-weary, middle-aged projection of the dilettante, debonair persona - self-obsessed and dressing-gowned who struts through the play like an educated peacock. It is a comedy about the 'theatricals' that Noel best knew and loved, and was originally a star vehicle for himself. It is the closest to an autobiographical play that Coward ever wrote.This Happy Breed is a saga of a lower middle-class family; and three shorter pieces fromTonight at 8.3 0 - is a farce set in the South of France, and serves as an oblique tribute to Frederick Lonsdale; The Astonished Heart is about the decay of a psychiatrist's mind through personal sexual obsession. Red Peppers, which closes the volume, was a cynical tribute to the lost music halls of the First World War.

Buy Coward Plays by Noel Coward from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780413461209
ISBN-10: 0413461203
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x mm)
Pages: 512
Imprint: Methuen Drama
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date: 6-Sep-1979
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Coward Plays by Noel Coward

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Coward Plays book by Noel Coward and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Noel Coward

Noel Coward made his name as a playwright with The Vortex (1924), in which he also appeared. His numerous other successful plays included Hay Fever, Private Lives, Design for Living, and Blithe Spirit. During the war he wrote screenplays such as Brief Encounter (1944) and This Happy Breed (1942). His volumes of verse, autobiography and letters have all been published to acclaim by Methuen Drama. Coward was knighted in 1970 and died three years later in Jamaica.

Books By Noel Coward

Coward Plays: Nine by Noel Coward
Hardback, February 2018
Home Chat by Noel Coward
Paperback, August 2016
Noel Coward Screenplays by Noel Coward
Paperback, November 2015
Tonight at 8.30 by Noel Coward
Paperback, April 2014