Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Plays by Federico Garcia Lorca

"Lorca is one of the few indisputably great dramatists of the twentieth century" Observer The Shoemaker's Wonderful Wife and The Love of Don Perlimplin use an old story of the old man married to the young wife to expose the social attitudes of a traditional Spain bound by rigid concepts of decency, reputation and honour. The Puppet Play deploys the puppets' uninhibited and passionate emotions as a direct attack on the 'tedious triviality' of commercial theatre. The Butterfly's Evil Spell explores the themes of love and frustration, while When Five Years Pass is a surrealist play with references to the film Un Chien Andalou [The Andalusian Dog] by Lorca's friend and collaborator, Luis Bunuel.

Buy Plays by Federico Garcia Lorca from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780413622600
ISBN-10: 0413622606
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 14mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Methuen Drama
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date: 12-Apr-1990
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Plays by Federico Garcia Lorca

Book Reviews - Plays by Federico Garcia Lorca

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Plays book by Federico Garcia Lorca and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Federico Garcia Lorca

Federico Garcia Lorca was born in 1898, in Andalusia, Spain. A poet and dramatist, and also a gifted painter and pianist, his early popular ballads earned him the title of 'poet of the gypsies'. In 1930 he turned his attention to theatre, visiting remote villages and playing classic and new works for peasant audiences. In 1936, shortly after the outbreak of Civil War, he was murdered by Nationalist partisans. His body was never found. Gwynne Edwards is a specialist in Spanish theatre and cinema, until recently Professor of Spanish at the University of Aberystwyth. His books include: Lorca: The Theatre Beneath the Sand; Lorca: Living in the Theatre; Dramatists in Perspective: Spanish Theatre in the Twentieth Century; The Discreet Art of Luis Bunuel: and Almodovar: Labyrinths of Passion. He has also translated and adapted more than forty plays from Spanish, French and Italian, many of which have been staged at major theatres in Britain and the United States. He has published three collections of Lorca plays with Methuen Drama, together with student editions of Blood Wedding and The House of Bernarda Alba, and also collections of seventeenth-century Spanish and contemporary Spanish-American plays adapted from the correspondence and prose writings of Dylan Thomas.

Books By Federico Garcia Lorca

Poet In Spain by Federico Garcia Lorca
Hardback, November 2017
La casa de Bernarda Alba by Federico Garcia Lorca
Paperback, March 2017
Dona Rosita La Soltera by Federico Garcia Lorca
Paperback / softback, January 2014
Casa de Bernarda Alba by Federico Garcia Lorca
Paperback / softback, January 2014