Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Pinter the Playwright by Martin Esslin

In 1958 The Birthday Party was dismissed by all but a few critics and closed after one week's run in London. Since then Harold Pinter has come to be acknowledged as "our best living playwright" (Irving Wardle, The Times) Martin Esslin's study of Pinter's plays has become a standard work since its publication in 1970. This sixth, revised edition - published to mark Pinter's 70th birthday and updated to cover his most recent plays, Moonlight, Ashes to Ashes and Celebration - offers a comprehensive survey of the whole span of Harold Pinter's writing career by one of the most distinguished commentators on modern theatre."It will certainly not be the last book on Pinter, but seems bound to remain one of the best" John Russell Taylor"Holds its place as the most straightforwardly useful account of Pinter's work to date" Times Literary Supplement

Buy Pinter the Playwright by Martin Esslin from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780413668608
ISBN-10: 0413668606
Format: Paperback
(199mm x 129mm x mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Methuen Drama
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date: 3-Jul-1999
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Pinter the Playwright by Martin Esslin

Book Reviews - Pinter the Playwright by Martin Esslin

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Pinter the Playwright book by Martin Esslin and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Martin Esslin

Theatre of the Absurd by Martin Esslin
Paperback, October 2014
Age of Television by Martin Esslin
Paperback, November 2001
Antonin Artaud by Martin Esslin
Paperback, March 1999
Field of Drama by Martin Esslin
Paperback, October 1988