Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Roman Philosophers by Mark P. O. Morford

The philosophers of the Roman world were asking questions whose answers had practical effects on people's lives in antiquity, and which still influence our thinking to this day. In spite of being neglected in the modern era, this important age of philosophical thought is now undergoing a revival of interest. Mark Morford's lively survey makes these recent scholarly developments accessible to a wide audience, examining the writings and ideas of both famous and lesser known figures - from Cato the Censor in 155 BCE to Marcus Aurelius in 180 CE. Based around extensive and fully translated quotations from the philosophical texts of the era, full consideration is given throughout to historical, political and cultural context. The Roman Philosophers is the ideal introduction for newcomers to the subject, as well as a useful overview for more advanced readers.

Buy The Roman Philosophers by Mark P. O. Morford from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780415188524
ISBN-10: 0415188520
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Routledge
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Publish Date: 25-Jul-2002
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Roman Philosophers by Mark P. O. Morford

Book Reviews - The Roman Philosophers by Mark P. O. Morford

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Roman Philosophers book by Mark P. O. Morford and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Mark P. O. Morford

Stoics and Neostoics by Mark P. O. Morford
Paperback, March 2017
Classical Mythology by Mark P. O. Morford
Paperback, September 2014
Poet Lucan by Mark P. O. Morford
Paperback, January 1998