1300 36 33 32

The remarkable French thinker Simone Weil is one of the leading intellectual and spiritual figures of the twentieth century. A legendary essayist, political philosopher and member of the French resistance, her literary output belied her tragically short life. Most of her work was published posthumously, to widespread acclaim. Always concerned with the nature of individual freedom, Weil explores in Oppression and Liberty its political and social implications. Analyzing the causes of oppression, its mechanisms and forms, she questions revolutionary responses and presents a prophetic view of a way forward. If, as she noted elsewhere, 'the future is made of the same stuff as the present', then there will always be a need to continue to listen to Simone Weil.

Buy Oppression and Liberty book by Simone Weil from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780415254076
ISBN-10: 0415254078
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 10mm)
Pages: 192
Imprint: Routledge
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Publish Date: 18-May-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Oppression and Liberty book by Simone Weil and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Simone Weil

Simone Weil (1909-43) was one of the most original philosophical, religious and political thinkers of the twentieth century; besides working as a teacher, a factory worker and a farmhand, she fought for the Republicans in the Spanish Civil War and was a member of the French resistance.

Books By Author Simone Weil

On the Abolition of All Political Parties by Simone Weil

On the Abolition of All Political Parties

Paperback, November 2014
Letter to a Priest by Simone Weil

Letter to a Priest

Paperback, July 2013
Waiting on God by Simone Weil

Waiting on God

Hardback, September 2009
War and the Iliad by Simone Weil

War and the Iliad

Paperback, April 2006