Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Church of the East by Wilhelm Baum

This book is currently the only complete history in English of the East Syriac Church of the East. It covers the periods of the Sassanians, Arabs, Mongols, Ottomans, the 20th century, and informs about the Syriac, Iranian and Chinese literature of this unique and almost forgotten part of Christendom. In the European Middle Ages, the Church was geographically far larger that any western Church, with followers along the Silk Road, in central Asia, China and in India. However, during the invasion of Tamberlane during the 14th century, and through the massacres and deportations at the hands of the kurds and Turks during the First World War, the Church of the East has become today the smallest among the oriental Churches. It is now scattered all over the world, with faithful in the Middle East, Europe, the US, India and Australia.

Buy The Church of the East by Wilhelm Baum from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780415297707
ISBN-10: 0415297702
Format: Hardback
(216mm x 138mm x mm)
Pages: 220
Imprint: RoutledgeCurzon
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Publish Date: 20-Mar-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Church of the East by Wilhelm Baum

Book Reviews - The Church of the East by Wilhelm Baum

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Church of the East book by Wilhelm Baum and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Wilhelm Baum

Wilhelm Baum is Associate Professor and teaches Medieval History at the Universities of Graz and Klagenfurt, Austria. He is author of of The Transformation of the Myth of Prester John (1999) and Ethiopia and Europe in the Middle Ages (2001). Dietmar W. Winkler is Associate Professor and teaches Patristics and Ecumenical Theology at the Universities of Graz and Salzburg and the Cistercian School of Theology, Heilogenkreuz, Austria.