Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media. Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day. In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict.

Buy Watching Babylon book by Nicholas Mirzoeff from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780415343091
ISBN-10: 0415343097
Format: Hardback
(216mm x 140mm x 17mm)
Pages: 212
Imprint: Routledge
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Publish Date: 4-Nov-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Watching Babylon book by Nicholas Mirzoeff and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Nicholas Mirzoeff

Nicholas Mirzoeff is Associate Professor of Art at Stony Brook University. He is the author of Bodyscape; Art, Modernity and the Ideal Figure (1995) and An Introduction to Visual Culture (1999), and the editor of The Visual Culture Reader (second edition 2002)

Books By Author Nicholas Mirzoeff

How to See the World by Nicholas Mirzoeff

How to See the World

Hardback, April 2016
$48.19
Visual Culture Reader by Nicholas Mirzoeff

The Visual Culture Reader

Paperback, July 2012
$76.49
Right to Look by Nicholas Mirzoeff

The Right to Look

Paperback, November 2011
$48.24
'Seinfeld' by Nicholas Mirzoeff

'Seinfeld'

Paperback, November 2007
$29.66