Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Glory and Terror by Antoine de Baecque

Glory and Terror is a vivid and often gory history of the darker side of the French Revolution. Through an examination of contemporary visual and literary representations of executions, funerals, processions and ceremonies it brings the often horrific events of the time to life. Honing in on seven real life cases, the author recounts and interprets: the public autopsy performed on the corpse of Mirabeau the exhumation and transportation of Voltaire's body to the Pantheon the public torture, murder and subsequent mutilation of the Princesse de Lamballe the agonizingly slow death of Robespierre. Anyone who enjoys dazzling cultural history in the vein of Robert Darnton, Carlo Ginzburg and Anthony Grafton will revel in this intelligent and original work.

Buy Glory and Terror by Antoine de Baecque from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780415926171
ISBN-10: 0415926173
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x mm)
Pages: 247
Imprint: Routledge
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Publish Date: 12-Dec-2002
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Glory and Terror by Antoine de Baecque

Book Reviews - Glory and Terror by Antoine de Baecque

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Glory and Terror book by Antoine de Baecque and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Antoine de Baecque

Antoine de Baecque is Professor of History at the University of Saint Quentin in Yvelynes, France and author of several studies of France during the Revolution, including The Body Politic: Corporeal Metaphor in Revolutionary France . He serves as editor of the Cahiers du cinemaand is co-author of the biography, Truffaut, published by Knopf (1999).

Books By Antoine de Baecque

Paris by Hollywood by Antoine de Baecque
Hardback, September 2012
$31.50
Tim Burton by Antoine de Baecque
Hardback, September 2011
$44.96
Doisneau: Artists by Antoine de Baecque
Hardback, October 2008
$70.95
Glory and Terror by Antoine de Baecque
Hardback, May 2001
$170.10