Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Boys and their Toys by Roger Horowitz

The second volume in Routledge's new series with the Hagley Center for the History of Business, Technology and Society, Boys and Their Toys places class and work at the core of gender formation. Covering topics from the turn-of-the-century to the present, Boys and Their Toys reveals how masculine roles were and are made. negotiating the divide between 'respectable manhood' and 'rough manhood', this book explores masculinity at work and at play through provocative essays on labor unions, railroads, vocational training programs, and NASCAR racing. This groundbreaking collection brings new insight into the complexities of masculinity and its relationship to class and society. It is a fresh and original exploration of gender, business and culture that is sure to appeal to readers of Gail Bederman and Michael Kimmel.

Buy Boys and their Toys by Roger Horowitz from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780415929332
ISBN-10: 0415929334
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Routledge Member of the Taylor and Francis Group
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Publish Date: 6-Aug-2001
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Boys and their Toys by Roger Horowitz

Book Reviews - Boys and their Toys by Roger Horowitz

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Boys and their Toys book by Roger Horowitz and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Roger Horowitz

Roger Horowitz is the associate director of the Hagley Museum and Library's Center for the History of Business, Technology and Society in Wilmington, Delaware. He is author of Negro and White Unite: A Social History Industrial Unionism in Meatpacking, and is editor of His and Hers: Gender Consumption, and Technology.

Books By Roger Horowitz

Putting Meat on the American Table by Roger Horowitz
Paperback, November 2005
$44.09
Boys and their Toys by Roger Horowitz
Hardback, August 2001
$180.00