Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Toby Wheeler by Thatcher Heldring

Fans of John Feinstein and Matt de la Pena will love Toby Wheeler's dreams of being a basketball star that Phil Jackson says is -a truly great basketball story.- And don't miss Thatcher Heldring's newest novel, The Football Girl--about a girl who follows her passion for the game and tries out for the football team! When Toby Wheeler has a chance to join the junior high basketball team, he's eager to prove he can keep up with his best friend, JJ. But practice doesn't go quite as Toby has planned, and when the coach announces the lineup, Toby's hopes of playing ball with JJ are history: he's an eighth-grade benchwarmer! -A truly great basketball story. Every hoops fan will love this book.---Phil Jackson, former head coach of the Los Angeles Lakers and member of the NBA Hall of Fame -This novel will appeal to readers who are looking for something one step beyond Matt Christopher's books.---SLJ -This engaging sports story gains depth from subplots involving Toby's tricky relationships with his former best friend and with the coach's daughter.--The Horn Book -Looking for something to do during halftime of the March Madness basketball games? Read this book.--The Washington Post -With so much written about the friction between girl friends, it's good to have a book that acknowledges that left-out feeling happens to boys, too.--Booklist

Buy Toby Wheeler by Thatcher Heldring from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780440421832
ISBN-10: 0440421837
Format: Paperback / softback
(195mm x 134mm x 14mm)
Imprint: Random House USA Inc
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Country of Publication: India

Other Editions - Toby Wheeler by Thatcher Heldring

Book Reviews - Toby Wheeler by Thatcher Heldring

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Toby Wheeler book by Thatcher Heldring and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Thatcher Heldring

THATCHER HELDRING grew up in the Pacific Northwest, where he taught himself to write and play sports--though not at the same time. Heldring has had several jobs in publishing. He has also worked as a grocery bagger, a ditchdigger, a small forward, a goalie, a scorekeeper, a coach, a rabid fan, a benchwarmer, and a shortstop. He lives with his wife and son in Seattle, a good place for indoor sports. He is the author of Toby Wheeler: Eighth-Grade Benchwarmer, Roy Morelli Steps Up to the Plate, The League, and The Football Girl. To learn more about Thatcher and his books, visit him online at spitballinc.com or follow @theldring on Twitter.

Books By Thatcher Heldring

Football Girl by Thatcher Heldring
Hardback, April 2017
$29.34
League by Thatcher Heldring
Paperback / softback, April 2015
$12.07
Roy Morelli Steps Up to the Plate by Thatcher Heldring
Paperback / softback, June 2011
$11.69